

# Honorary Awards Committee: Terms of Reference and Membership

## 1. Purpose of Honorary Awards Committee -

To consider, scrutinise and deliberate on nominations for honorary awards to be reviewed by the Committee under the Honorary Awards of the University Policy (where applicable, having regard to the assessments made by the Honorary Awards Working Group) and formulating recommendations to Council on matters such as:

- 1.1 suitable candidates for the honorary awards of:
  - a) Honorary Degrees; and
  - b) the title of Fellow of the University.
- 1.2 the suitability of the existing suite of honorary awards described at 1.1, and proposals for new honorary awards;
- 1.3 policy and guidelines governing the honorary awards described at 1.1, including but not limited to:
  - a) selection criteria and eligibility:
  - b) nomination and approval procedures;
  - c) immediate award benefits (including format of testamurs);
  - d) use of post-nominals; and
  - e) on-going entitlements of award holders.

### 2. Responsibilities -

- 2.1 To liaise with appropriate officers of the University with a view to maximising positive publicity opportunities resulting from conferral of the honorary awards described at 1.1.
- 2.2 To ensure that a comprehensive list of recipients of the honorary awards described at 1.1 is maintained in an appropriate publicly accessible place (usually the University internet site).
- 2.3 To review from time to time all policies pertaining to the honorary awards described at 1.1 and to recommend amendments to Council as appropriate.
- 2.4 To obtain and consider any additional information that the Committee considers to be necessary.
- 2.5 On the basis of the information available to the Committee, to provide a report to the next meeting of Council on the nominated candidates recommended for award and on the Committee's deliberations.

## 3. Composition and Membership -

3.1 The composition (as of 1 December 2022) and membership (as of 1 January 2025) of the Honorary Awards Committee are<sup>1</sup>:

Composition	Member
Committee Members	
Chancellor [Chair]	Ms Gaye McMath
Deputy Chancellor	Mr Robert Radley
Vice-Chancellor	Professor Clare Pollock
Chairperson of the Academic Board	Associate Professor Madeleine Ogilvie
One other Member of Council	Vacant
President, ECU Student Guild	Ms Pema Chentsho
One Member of University Executive	Professor Karen Strickland
Two Members nominated by the Academic Board	Associate Professor Claire Lambert [AB187/24]; and Professor Chris Abbiss [UC210/38]
Accredited Observer	
Chair of the Honorary Awards Working Group	Professor Cobie Rudd

3.2 There may be occasions when a matter before the Honorary Awards Committee is designated by the Chair as a reserved matter, to be considered *in camera*. On such occasions any co-opted members or student representatives will be asked to withdraw from the meeting and will not return until the *in camera* discussion has concluded. Agenda papers and any other documents pertaining to the reserved matter will not at any time be made available to either co-opted members or student representatives. Minutes of the discussion and resolution of reserved matters which have been considered *in camera* will be recorded separately.

### 4. Honorary Awards Committee Chair

In the absence of the Chair at a meeting of the Honorary Awards Committee, members will elect from among the full members present a person to serve as Acting Chair until such time as the Chair of the Committee is available.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The terms of reference and membership of the Honorary Awards Working Group is determined by the Honorary Awards Committee – refer to the *Honorary Awards Procedures* (section 2.1).